Is Hillshire Farm Halal?
ℹ️ Varies by ProductNo Hillshire Farm product holds halal certification in any market. The standard Summer Sausage lists pork first, while the Hardwood Smoked Beef Summer Sausage is beef only — two near-identical names with completely different answers. Tyson runs halal programmes for other brands, never for this one.
Country
United States
Product Types
Summer sausage, Smoked sausage, Cocktail links +1 more
Halal Certification
No halal certification for any Hillshire Farm line. Tyson's own certifications page does not list halal, and Hillshire Farm's site carries no halal or dietary statement. Tyson's JAKIM certification in Malaysia covers the Tyson and First Pride brands, not Hillshire Farm.
The One Word That Changes the Answer
Hillshire Farm sells two summer sausages whose names differ by a single word, and whose halal status could not be further apart.
Hillshire Farm Summer Sausage lists: “Pork, beef, salt, contains 2% or less: natural flavor, citric acid, whole mustard seed, dextrose, vitamin c (sodium ascorbate), sodium nitrite.” Pork is the first ingredient, which means it is the predominant meat.
Hillshire Farm Hardwood Smoked Beef Summer Sausage lists: “Beef, Salt, Contains 2% or less of: Natural Flavors, Citric Acid, Whole Mustard Seed, Dextrose, Vitamin C (Sodium Ascorbate), Sodium Nitrite.”
Same shelf, same livery, near-identical panels. One is pork-first and one has no pork at all. If you take one thing from this page, take the habit of reading for the word “Beef” in the product name.
Is Hillshire Farm Halal?
No line is. Even the beef and turkey products are uncertified, so the best available status for a pork-free Hillshire Farm item is Mushbooh, not halal.
We checked three of Tyson’s own pages and all three are silent. Hillshire Farm’s site has no halal, kosher or dietary-certification statement. Tyson Foodservice’s Hillshire Farm hub makes no halal claim. Tyson’s “Safety and Quality Certifications and Programs” page lists BRCGS, SQF, HACCP, FSMA, NSF and several others — halal appears nowhere on it.
Tyson Does Certify Halal, Just Not Here
This is the detail that causes most of the confusion, so it is worth being precise.
Tyson Malaysia states plainly: “We are certified Halal by the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (JAKIM).” That certification covers the Tyson, First Pride and First Pride Green Series brands in Malaysia. Hillshire Farm is not mentioned.
Tyson’s US beef arm previously marketed certified halal beef under the ibp label through a dedicated site. That site now redirects to Tyson’s main domain, and we could not identify the certifying body or confirm the programme is still running. Treat it as discontinued until Tyson says otherwise.
Neither of those programmes reaches Hillshire Farm. A JAKIM certificate for chicken in Malaysia tells you nothing about a summer sausage in Ohio.
Cocktail Links: Two Versions, Two Different Problems
Pork Lit’l Smokies: “Pork, mechanically separated chicken, water, corn syrup, contains 2% or less: potassium lactate, dextrose, natural flavors, salt, oat fiber, calcium lactate, monosodium glutamate, sodium diacetate, sodium phosphate, sodium erythorbate, beef stock, sodium nitrite.; made with calcium alginate casing.”
Three animals in one product, one of them pork. The casing is calcium alginate, which is seaweed-derived and not a concern.
Turkey Lit’l Smokies has no pork, but ends: “Made with Calcium Alginate or Beef Collagen Casing.” Beef collagen from an animal not slaughtered Islamically is its own issue, and the label leaves you unable to tell which casing you have.
Product Breakdown
| Line | Meat | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Summer Sausage (standard) | Pork first, then beef | Haram |
| Hardwood Smoked Beef Summer Sausage | Beef only | Mushbooh — no halal slaughter |
| Beef Summer Sausage | Beef only | Mushbooh — no halal slaughter |
| Garlic and Herbs / Hardwood Smoked Summer Sausage | Not stated on the page | Assume pork until the panel says otherwise |
| Pork Lit’l Smokies | Pork, plus chicken and beef stock | Haram |
| Turkey Lit’l Smokies | Turkey; casing may be beef collagen | Mushbooh |
| Ham, Black Forest Ham, Honey Ham, chorizo, Italian sausage, pepperoni | Pork | Haram |
| Ultra Thin turkey breast and roast beef slices | Turkey or beef | Mushbooh — no halal slaughter |
Key E-Codes
| E-code | Name | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| E621 | Monosodium glutamate | Mushbooh | Present in both Lit’l Smokies varieties; source not disclosed |
What We Could Not Confirm
Three summer sausage SKUs — Garlic and Herbs, the one sold simply as “Summer Sausage” in some pack sizes, and Hardwood Smoked Summer Sausage — do not state their meat type on Hillshire Farm’s category page. Only the two products with “Beef” in the name are confirmed beef-only. Read the panel on those three rather than assuming.
How we reached this verdict
We checked the following Tier-1 sources before publishing:
- Manufacturer: Hillshire Farm’s own product pages for the pork and beef summer sausage panels and both Lit’l Smokies panels. Its contact and FAQ page, which carries no dietary statement.
- Parent company: Tyson Foods’ certifications and programs page, where halal is absent. Tyson Foodservice’s Hillshire Farm brand hub. Tyson Malaysia’s own JAKIM statement, which scopes the certification to other brands.
- HMC / HFA / IFANCA / ISNA: No certification entry found for Hillshire Farm in any registry.
- Sunni fatwa on pork: Pork and its derivatives are prohibited by explicit Qur’anic text, agreed across all four madhabs. No further verification is needed for the pork lines.
- Sunni fatwa on uncertified beef and poultry: Meat from an animal not slaughtered according to Islamic rites is impermissible under the mainstream position, which is why the beef and turkey lines are Mushbooh rather than halal.
Madhab note
There is no meaningful disagreement to report on this brand.
- All four schools (Hanafi, Maliki, Shafi’i, Hanbali): The pork products are Haram without qualification.
- All four schools: Beef and turkey from animals not slaughtered according to Islamic rites is impermissible. Because no Hillshire Farm line is certified, no product reaches Halal on any school’s reading.
- Practical difference: Some readers follow scholarly positions permitting meat slaughtered by People of the Book in specific circumstances. Even on that reading, the beef collagen casing on the turkey links and the shared processing lines with pork remain open questions.
The absence of a pork ingredient is not the same as a halal product. For Hillshire Farm, it is as far as the range goes.
Key E-Codes in Hillshire Farm Products
Do you own or represent Hillshire Farm?
Partner with HalalCodeCheck — reach shoppers at the moment they verify your products.
Not sure about a specific Hillshire Farm product?
Scan the ingredient label or search by E-code — checks every additive instantly against our database.
Stay informed
Brand formulas change without warning
We update every brand guide when manufacturers reformulate or earn halal certification. Be first to know — one short weekly email.
Related Brands
Greggs
ℹ VariesGreggs does not hold halal certification. Standard sausage rolls and most meat-containing products use pork and are not halal. The vegan sausage roll and vegan steak bake contain no meat but are made in the same facilities as pork products. Not recommended for Muslims seeking halal-certified food.
Read brand guide
Maple Leaf Foods
⚠ MushboohMaple Leaf Foods is Canada's largest branded meat company and produces no blanket halal-certified range. Some chicken and turkey products sold in Ontario and Quebec have carried halal certification from ISNA Canada or HMA, but this is product-specific and subject to change. Extensive pork lines are haram. The only reliable method is to check the individual pack for a recognised halal certification logo.
Read brand guide
Wiesenhof
✗ HaramWiesenhof standard retail products sold in German supermarkets carry no halal certification. The chickens are not slaughtered according to zabiha requirements. Some Wiesenhof export products (GCC, Malaysia) carry halal certification — these do not appear in standard German retail.
Read brand guide